Museum Shops Association of Australia & New Zealand

The only professional organisation dedicated to cultural retail management in Australasia

ServiceIQ New Zealand Museum Awards 2018: MSAANZ Best New Product or Range

Leave a comment

The MSAANZ is proud to once again be supporting the Best New Product or Range Award in collaboration with Museums Aotearoa, at the ServiceIQ New Zealand Museum Awards 2018: Celebrating innovation, community engagement and cutting-edge practice.

Entries are now open!

Now in their 11th year, the annual New Zealand Museum Awards recognise excellence and innovation in projects, exhibitions, service, retail and accessibility. The awards are open to all museums, galleries, cultural and heritage visitor attractions who are members of Museums Aotearoa.

No matter what size or speciality, this is a really great opportunity to gain recognition for the amazing work that your organisation has been doing over the last year. The ServiceIQ New Zealand Museum Awards are generously supported by Industry Training Organisation for New Zealand’s service industries, ServiceIQ. The awards celebrate the unique and creative ways museums bring collections and stories to life and recognise the skills and expertise of the people who make it all happen. This does not always require big budgets and as well as the separate exhibition categories, judges have the option to specifically recognise smaller museums in other categories.

This year there are 10 award categories to choose from including the “Arts for All” award which was offered for the first time in 2017, developed in partnership with Arts Access Aotearoa. There will be several panels of specialist judges made up of professionals from across each discipline (Art, Science and Technology, Social History, Taonga Māori, Visitor Experience, Public Programmes, Arts Access and Museum Retail). Their decisions will be reviewed and collated by an overview panel that also decides the supreme award. Judges will be announced in late March.

Entries are due by 5pm on Tuesday 10 April and the finalists will be announced in early May. Winners and finalists of the 2018 awards will be acknowledged and celebrated in a public ceremony on Sunday 20 May at Christchurch Art Gallery.

2018 Categories are:

Exhibition Excellence – Art

Exhibition Excellence – Science and Technology

Exhibition Excellence – Social History

Exhibition Excellence – Taonga Māori

Most Innovative use of Te Reo Māori

ServiceIQ Museum Visitor Experience Award

Most Innovative Public Programme

Museum Project Excellence Award

Arts Access Museum Award

MSAANZ Best New Product/Best New Range Award

For full details, terms and conditions, see the Museums Aotearoa website or contact MA by email or tel 04 499 1313.

Author: msaanz

The only professional organisation dedicated to cultural retail management in Australasia.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.